Random Stuff

I worry about random things. Will a toilet falling from space kill me? If I step on a crack, will my mother have her back break? What happens if a glob of fat breaks loose from my artery and travels to my brain–will I know before I drop over dead? Will I know my true love or will I not be looking when he gives me the eye?

I also worry that for every thing I learn, I’ll forget something. I fear my brain will only hold so much information, then, other things start to leak out, which is what wax in your ear really is–information leaking out of the brain. We clean it out with a Q-Tip and toss it casually away, which is why we never use calculus again as it’s one of the first things to go. Somehow, I’m okay with that info departing quickly.

Below are random things I know and things I recently learned. I hope they don’t cancel each other out or I’ll never win at Jeopardy again.

1. The word ‘meme’ is pronounced ‘meem’.

2. Male hippos poo on their prospective mates. I can do without that kind of courting.

3. If you add like numbers, the answer is always even.

4. Thunder follows lightening 5 seconds per mile away.

5. The technical term for a cat’s hairball is a bezoar.

6. Just two percent of the world’s population is naturally blonde (for Lily)

7. The first CD released in the US was Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Born in the USA‘. I have a copy.

8. 101 Dalmatians and Peter Pan (Wendy) are the only two Disney cartoon features with both parents that are present and don’t die throughout the movie. I still can’t watch Bambi without bursting into tears.

9.5% of Canadians don’t know the first 7 words of the Canadian anthem, but know the first 9 of the American anthem and 7% of Americans don’t know the first 9 words of the American anthem, but know the first 7 of the Canadian anthem.

10. Macs have a secret language if you use the ‘Option’ key. For example, 4 is usually a 4 or a $. But, if you use the option key and the 4, it becomes ¢. Who knew? Option + J = ∆. See?

11. When you go to a musical, there are a group of singers call the ‘swing crew’. They sing in the control booth during the show. Because of all the energy needed to run around during a musical number, the actual singers can’t keep a good vocal performance, thus, the swing crew fills in allowing you as an audience to think you are hearing the actors on stage. Actually, they are often struggling to breathe during those dance numbers and are mouthing the words sung by the swing crew.

12. The Eisenhower interstate system requires that one mile in every five must be straight. These straight sections are usable as airstrips in times of war or other emergencies.

13. The word “lethologica” describes the state of not being able to remember the word you want. I dwell in the land of lethologica.

14. The largest number of children born to one woman is recorded at 69. From 1725-1765, a Russian peasant woman gave birth to 16 sets of twins, 7 sets of triplets, and 4 sets of quadruplets. And the Duggars think they rock the boat in the big family department.

15. A book that is often banned is Fahrenheit 451. I often wonder if the school boards see the irony in that action.

Add your own, if you will. I just cleaned my ears, and have space to fill.

59 thoughts on “Random Stuff

  1. 1. The most common birthdate all year is October 5th (9 months after New Year’s Eve)

    2. Colin Quinn was originally supposed to play Seth Green’s character Scott Evil in the Austin Powers films. He turned it down to work on Night at the Roxbury instead.

    3. Japanese people hate it when you call them Chinese and vice versa.

    That’s about all I know.

  2. WHAT HAVE YOU PUSHED FROM MY BRAIN?? And EB will fall into the NYE-baby category.

    1. If a baby were to keep growing the same rate as the first months in utero, it would be as big as the sun. If it kept growing the same rate as the first three months after birth, it would be as big as Jupiter.

    2. The time between the T-rex (cretaceous period) and the pterodactyl (jurassic) is greater than the time between humans and the T-rex.

    3. Babies born in the caul are rare (still in the amniotic sac or with some membranes draped over the baby), 1 in 80,000 births. But there would be more if hospitals didn’t break the water to “get things moving” on their schedule. Napoleon was born in the caul. It’s supposed to be magical to see.

  3. I’m seriously hoping that 9, 10 and 14 are not things that you KNEW.

    If the numbers don’t like each other is the answer uneven?

    Finally you’ve given me a new word that describes my very real condition. It goes without saying, I’ll never remember it. Why don’t they call the condition, “Bob?” That would be so much easier for those who suffer with it.

    • I must say I did know #14, thanks to the Life series on humans that came out in the ’70s. Even then, I thought, “What did she say when her husband said, “Honey, let’s go for 70!””.

      I like Bob, and I vote we call our condition just that, and the heck with the real name!

      As for numbers not liking each other, ahahahahahaha!!! I got a huge chuckle out of that one (which I knew).

  4. This was so bizarre. I hope your brain doesn’t really think about all of these pointless things on a daily basis. How do you have room for all the important stuff? Like knowing when It’s time to eat and stuff like that?!

    • I keep a daily planner to remind me of daily mundane stuff. Otherwise, my head is aswirl with completely odd facts and song bits and pieces of books and poems and things I’ve heard and read. None of it is linear, either–it just serpentines in my head, all of it trying to segue and ending up being non sequitur instead.

  5. Oh my, I did not know all of this. Wonderful. The thing about musicals — had no idea. Let’s see, random fact: The most dogs ever owned by one person were 5,000 Mastiffs owned by Kubla Khan.

    You come recommended by the wonderful Madame Weebles, therefore I shall follow you. Great post!

  6. Pingback: Friday Foolishness – Leather and Spandex Edition | Guapola

  7. So THAT’s how you pronounce meme. This is the best piece of information that I needed but never bothered to find out about I’ve ever gotten! HA! And 69 kids? I wonder if she lived in a show. And actually, if I’m really old and ready to kick the bucket, I’d say a toilet dropping on me from space might be a fitting end! :D HA!

  8. I found this in the archives section. I say this with all sincerest love…you are a wonderful nut! I love this stuff…can I reblog this? Let me know.

    Skip

  9. Now I’m worried about Hippos pooping on me. I will be watching for them.
    Also, “swing” is the term used most commonly for people who are usually understudies for principles and do many of the smaller roles. It is the hardest job in stage acting because you can be called upon at a moments notice if someone is sick or injured. It is true that during strenuous dance numbers that the ensemble often sings back stage. I’ve never heard of crew (lighting, stage management, sound etc) filling in on musicals. Maybe community theatre… idk.

    • I’ve worked in theater as a prop designer and stage manager, so, I know about the difficult job of the swing. Friend of mine is on Broadway in a third tier role, and is the cover for the first tier role. He was in Cats on tour, and, when a musical is on tour, instead of the swings being off-stage,they are in a room together, singing. Theater is magnificent, isn’t it? Look, we are both right!

Leave a Reply

